Fun with the 9 inch...

The place to talk Slicks. All we ask is that discussion has something to do with slicks...

Moderators: Kid, Casey 65

my66longbed

Fun with the 9 inch...

Post by my66longbed »

So this is my first time taking apart a ford 9 inch, and I am having a bear of a time. I have a few questions.

1. When I got my slick the previous owner at some point had the diff apart and had lost the rear axle tag. The ring is 35 teeth, and the pinion was 10, so that would give me a 3.5 ratio. Correct? Just double checking my math..

I am having a hard time figuring out what gear ratio I should have. By this I mean with figuring in the engine <428 Stroker>, transmission <NV4500 5 speed>, and such what gear ratio would be best for my setup. What other factors should I be figuring in?

2. I would like to make my 9 inch a posi. Does anyone have any suggestions on kits to convert over to a posi setup. I was looking at:

http://www.4wheelerssupply.com/catalog/ ... 262469fedc

But I don't know if this would be the best option. Has anyone done something like this, or have a better suggestion?

3. I would like to convert the this from drum brakes to disc. I already have converted the front end, and every 9 inch I have ever seen has drum brakes.

I appreciate your help. This is my first restore and I am learning as I go...

Thanks!
Comet

Post by Comet »

Well, I'll try to answer some questions.
You have the ratio figured out right.
The lock right is an affordable kit that should be fine for most applications and is an easy install.
As for what ratio you should run depends on lots of things. How you drive it, do you want mileage or hard launch capability or grunt to pull stumps? How big are your tires, etc.