my shipwrecked '63

A place just for our project & build threads.

Moderators: Kid, Casey 65

shipwrecked
United States of America

my shipwrecked '63

Post by shipwrecked »

I am new to the F100 slicks. Haven't completed any restorations before, but did have a '37 Chrysler Royal sedan that took too much for me to do at the time I was trying to work on it. I was 24 at the time, and had no money. Sold it.

In November, I picked up the '63 F100 Custom Cab from a high school friend (been 15 years+) since I ran into the guy. I picked up his truck for 1000. It has a rebuilt 223 straight 6 in it, and three on the tree. The body is pretty straight and only major rust is the bed. Has a rear wheel seal leak and a brake leak now. But overall it was running. I put new tires on it and hauled it up from Oregon to Washington to where I am currently stationed. I was overseas in '10-'12 and thought about getting a project when I got back. Took an additional 10 months to get to it. The ship I am on now has had major mechanical malfunctions so I spent way too many hours working on that and 2 emergency dry-docks in 6 months. I seriously thought I was going to get fired from my position because of all the nightmares. But, I walked into a shinny turd. Now, it's running awesome. Time to work on the '63. Image
Last edited by shipwrecked on May 19, 2018, 11:37 am, edited 5 times in total.
The months may change, but I am always APRIL
'63 F100 Custom Cab 223inline 6, 3speed manual- mostly stock
https://www.youtube.com/coastiereid
Truck has been home in CA,OR,WA,NJ,VA since it's birth in San Jose Jan63
foodstick

Re: my shipwrecked '63

Post by foodstick »

Very cool background story on the route to your truck !

You will soon find how simple, straight forward and reliable these trucks are with a little work. They are diamonds in the rough. I am surprised everyday how many more people are discovering them for the first time.