63 Uni Crown Vic swap - Start to finish

A place just for our project & build threads.

Moderators: Kid, Casey 65

jcperea69

63 Uni Crown Vic swap - Start to finish

Post by jcperea69 »

Hey guys. So I've been lurking around this forum and others for several months gathering info on this swap. I'm somewhat of a newbie hot rodder and this is really my first big project. I've had this 63 for about 2 years and in that time have just been working the motor and trans. Figured it was time to get this part of the truck going. I am by no means an expert fabricator or mechanic, just a garage hobbyist. So if you see something wrong, that's probably because I didn't know any better. But for anyone that's in my boat as a newbie or first timer, trust me, you can do this swap. It takes some welding and fabrication but take your time and don't rush it. A decent welder is a must and a plasma cutter will make short work of all those rivets that have to come out. Here's some helpful tips and tricks that I picked along the way:

Plan your build. But just know everything is going to change along the way.
Whatever your budget is, add 40%
Don't listen to the haters in some of the other forums. This is your build, do it how you want.
Invest in a good step drill bit. Spend the money. Trust me, it will make all the frame holes you need to drill a lot easier.
The crown vic motor mount pedestals are not centered. They are offset to the passenger side. (I scratched my head quite a bit on this until I actually measured it)
Remember that this swap changes everything - Motor location, exhaust, steering, drive shaft, brakes
This swap took me about a month. I know the pros are faster but I'm a nights and weekends type guy.
If you are changing to power brakes... two words ---> PEDAL RATIO! This kicked my ass for a week.
Try to keep your truck on the road. If it's running, you'll drive it. Otherwise, it might sit in that garage for years.

Here goes: