The Blue Truck Saga

A place just for our project & build threads.

Moderators: Kid, Casey 65

beater_renix
United States of America

The Blue Truck Saga

Post by beater_renix »

Hello everyone I’m new to Slick 60’s, and a Jeep guy that’s moving on. I recently inherited my wife’s great grandfathers 1965 Camper Special.

As a side note our fore fathers were giants of men. They drove three quarter ton trucks without assisted braking or steering let alone A/C (and sitting on the fuel tank), much respect for them.

The truck sat mostly covered for years, but it was in Indiana so there’s plenty of rust. The basic equipment is a 352 FE with 2 barrel carb, and a four speed manual (NP 435 I think).

My build plans are all over the map right now, so I still haven’t’ decided what I want to do with it. I’ve got an affinity to historical things, but I also want to use them as they were intended. I have no place for garage queens. Knowing that, I’ve managed to convince myself it will be a restomod.

A friend of mine is going on the Hot Rod Power Tour in June (2016) with his 69 C10, and he convinced me I need to bring this ford as well. This build will chronicle my attempt to restore basic functionality to this truck then take it on a long haul power tour. My best guess is ~3000 miles in a weeks’ time, at highways speeds, with no overdrive.

I’ve kicked around Hydroboost or the ABS power brake electric booster contraption. If I go Hydroboost I’ll go ahead and add power steering. Fordification has a good write up on power steering so I’ll look into that, if that the direction I go. The gas tank I would like out of the cab and front disc are mandatory as far as I’m concerned. An engine swap to a 460 is a consideration, but I feel that is sort of cheating. I debate swapping another drive train in just for the power tour, then take my time and build the restomod like I want.