63 Short Wrong-Full Crown Vic Swap

A place just for our project & build threads.

Moderators: Kid, Casey 65

HawaiiKid

63 Short Wrong-Full Crown Vic Swap

Post by HawaiiKid »

Hey guys-noob here, but not to Ford trucks! Currently own a 03 F-150 Lightning (stock block bolt on truck that is my daily driver, but runs into the 12s!) and have just added a 1963 F100 to my stable. To be totally honest I do not know much about this platform or motor OR trans, but I'm ready and willing to learn! What I do know is it is a short wheelbase F100 with a 292 Y block in it. It has a hacked together "true dual" exhaust set up with the stock manifolds, the front leafs have been "flipped", it has a 3 speed converted to a floor shift (Indy shifter), and has had the trim stripped and holes filled (poorly). The goal for this truck will be as a rough around the edges cruiser, but with DD like drivability. Here are some pictures:

What it needs right off the bat:
Cab mounts/floor pans (cab mounts are totally rotted, the reason the cab has more rake than the bed haha)
New hood (rusted through in the front, hinge is all f'ed up-need to go hit a local junk yard)
Brake lights don't work
Passenger side window is not on the track/inner workings seem messed up possibly
Battery Box (old one is pretty rusted into the fender, probably looking at LMC)
Rear end flipped (no more rake!)
More than 2 lugs per wheel (seriously...the guy sold it and said "It's drivable!")
Go through the brakes, check everything.

Things I want
Nice interior
Dual side exhaust
Wheels and tires
Matte White paint/black bed liner
And probably a newer motor and trans combo once its cleaned up a bit.

Questions I have:
Opinions on swapping a later motor/trans combo, or just swapping the trans or going another route?

Where can I buy a rear flip kit for my year? Seems like everything is for 65+ trucks...

Thanks, lookin forward to learning about this truck!